International Showcases
Music
Echoes of the City
Mavis Lam (Hong Kong)
Venue
Miller Theater, Asia Society Hong Kong Center
Google Map
Date and time (HKT)
17 Oct (Thu) - 18 Oct (Fri) 18:00
Pass holder
FULLDAYSTUDENT
Full pass holders are eligible to reserve a seat
Language
/

Echoes of the City incorporates a wide range of ethnic instruments from different regions, including percussion instruments from Africa and South America, in addition to the dynamic versatility of the Chinese pipa and the rustic charm of the Japanese shakuhachi. Through the harmonious integration of sounds from various regions, this concert showcases the unique culture and historical background of Hong Kong.

The entire programme is composed and arranged by members of the Run-around Ensemble, guiding the audience to settle gradually and find peace of mind, with the plucking strings of the pipa initiating this musical journey. The repertoire features creative and evocative sonic combinations, such as steel tongue drum music by the Ensemble’s music director Margie Tong and alternate tuning for the pipa by co-music director Mavis Lam. In other words, Echoes of the City provides a platform where performers share their stage experiences and life journeys, intermingling musical exploration of sound with personal emotions.

Lam Tsan-tong, Mavis

Pipa

Lam Tsan-tong helped found the Wuji Ensemble in 2003 and is currently its music manager. A graduate of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts majoring in Chinese music, Lam is a seasoned pipa and ruan soloist, having collaborated with choreographers, theatre directors and various arts groups both in live performances and musical improvisation. Recent performances included Finland’s Kumho Summer Festival 2016, Hong Kong Dance Company’s Reveries of the Red Chamber and Vipassana, Jiangsu Province Performing Arts Company Opera and Dance Theatre’s Xiangjun-Dream, Wuji Ensemble’s Boundless Groove and A Sonic Journey in Nature, and the multi-media music theatre work To Someone Alike. Apart from performing, Lam is also an educator and frequent pipa recording artist for television. Most recently, she is involved in music meditation, using music from the heart to help audiences find inner peace.


Margie Tong

Percussion

A graduate of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA) and the Royal College of Music, Margie Tong has received international recognition as a performer and scholar. Tong has performed in a wide range of musicals, theatre productions, arts festivals and pop concerts around the world. Apart from teaching, she frequently organises music clinics and workshops and serves on competition juries across Asia. Since 2017, Tong has visited various cities in Brazil and Peru to continue her studies in Latin percussion. She is former President of the Percussive Arts Society (Hong Kong Chapter), founder of Margie Tong’s Student Percussion Ensemble and Run-around Ensemble. She currently teaches at the HKAPA and is proudly endorsed by Tycoon Percussion.


Sunny Yeung

shakuhachi

Sunny Yeung is an architect, a non-practising barrister, an arbitrator and a mediator.

 

Before picking up the shakuhachi, Sunny was a principal flautist with various amateur orchestras in Hong Kong.  He was a champion of the concerto class competition in the Hong Kong Schools Music Festival and holds a diploma in Flute Performance from the Trinity College of Music.

 

Sunny studied shakuhachi in Australia with Dai Shihan (Grand Master) Dr. Riley Lee for four years, completing the entire repertoire of the Chikuho-ryu school.  With the blessing of Dr. Lee, Sunny furthered his study of the Honkyoku's Watashimido lineage in Japan with its leading exponents, Kaysuya Yokoyama and Tajima Tadashi.

 

While in Australia, Sunny performed and presented workshops at various concert halls and universities as well as the Sydney Opera House.

 

Since returning to Hong Kong, Sunny has performed regularly, collaborating with such local composers as Peter Millivard, Michael Lai, Tomy Wai and Jun Kung.  He was featured in four CDs (Happy Valley, Hong Kong Dub Station, Electric Road, and Return to the Dub Station) released by Drum Music in Hong Kong.  He was also featured in Volume 8 of the Café del Mar series.  In 2021, he performed in the premiere performance of Dr. Mui Kwong-chiu’s Crane Suite in Five Movements for Solo Shakuhachi at the City Hall Concert Hall.

  • Approximately 60 minutes in duration.
  • You are recommended to arrive 15 minutes before the event starts. No admission for latecomers.
  • Programmes are subject to change without prior notice. HKPAX reserves the right to make the final decision regarding the arrangements.

國際精品演出
音樂
城市心聲
林灒桐 (香港)
場地
亞洲協會香港中心麥禮賢劇場
地圖
日期和時間 (香港時間)
10月17日 (星期四) - 10月18日 (星期五) 18:00
通行證持有人
標準一日學生
標準通行證持有人可以憑證預留座位
語言
/

《城市心聲》運用大量包括南美及非洲等地的民族敲擊樂器,再融合中國琵琶靈動多變的演釋方式以及日本尺八的古樸,透過不同地域聲音的和諧共融,表現出香港這個城市的獨有的文化及其歷史底薀。 全場曲目均由Run-around 樂團成員親自創作及改編,帶領觀眾慢慢沉澱、安頓身心。琵琶撥弦聲逐漸滲入,推動音色變化,展開音樂之旅。曲目中不乏創意的聲音組合,包括由樂團音樂總監唐舜菁創作的鋼舌鼓音樂,而林灒桐(樂團聯合音樂總監)也會嘗試改變琵琶定弦,運用獨特的演奏方法帶出意象。《城市心聲》可說是演奏者從自身的舞台歷練和生命體驗出發,與觀眾分享一場記錄了不同聲音組合和演奏者生命歷程的音樂會。

林灒桐

琵琶

林灒桐畢業於香港演藝學院中樂系,常以琵琶及阮琴演奏家身份與編舞家、劇場導演及不同藝術團體合作,擔任現場演奏及即興音樂創作,2003年參與成立無極樂團,現為團長。她近期參與的演出包括芬蘭Kumho夏季音樂節2016、香港舞蹈團《紅樓.夢三闋》及《觀自在》、江蘇省演藝集團歌劇舞劇院《香君.夢》、無極樂團《無極爵躍》、《一任逍遙》音樂會、多媒體音樂劇埸《致最相似的人》等。除表演以外,她一直從事音樂教育工作,經常為電視劇集配樂作琵琶錄音,近年亦積極參與音樂靜心活動,希望用由心而發的樂聲引領大家重覓內心的逸靜。


唐舜菁

敲擊

唐舜菁畢業於香港演藝學院音樂學院及英國皇家音樂學院,多年來屢次獲獎學金,肯定了她的演藝成就。唐氏曾參與多個音樂劇、舞台製作、藝術節及演唱會,並獲邀在世界各地演出 、舉行大師班及比賽評審。 自 2017年多次遠赴巴西及秘魯多個城市深造拉丁音樂。 唐氏為 Percussive Arts Society香港分會前任主席 、 Margie Tong’s Student Percussion Ensemble及 Run-around樂團創團人。現任教於香港演藝學院,並為Tycoon Percussion之代言人。


楊光

尺八

楊光,建築師、非執業大律師、仲裁員及調解員,被公認為香港第一個演奏尺八的音樂人。

 

楊氏自幼熱愛各類音樂,中學時隨Pamela Ryker學習長笛,曾任青年管弦樂團長笛首席,並奪取校際比賽長笛冠軍,後考獲聖三一音樂學院長笛演奏文憑。

 

八十年代中,楊氏先後跟隨John Kaizan Neptune(外號海山, 定居日本之美籍國際尺八演奏家/製管師)、竹保流尺八演奏家 Riley Lee博士(首位外國人取得尺八師範資格)、橫山勝也大師及田島直士大師學習。

 

楊氏的尺八工作主要為演奏、教學、灌鋒唱片、電影配樂、講座及工作坊。楊氏曾獲邀參與錄製電影配樂,受電影音樂監製韋啟良及泰迪羅賓之邀請,錄製電影《消失的子彈》的尺八音樂;另外亦錄製電影《愛沉迷》的尺八及長笛音樂,電影音樂監製為黎小田。

 

楊氏在澳洲居住多年期間,曾多次於悉尼歌劇院演出。他亦曾應邀到多間大學、大專院校、中學、樂茶軒及佛學堂主講以尺八為主題之講座。楊氏並與Drum Music多度合作,參與灌錄了多張廣受好評的CD 出品。

 


 

馬立賢

錄像設計

馬立賢於2013年至2023年間擔任香港演藝學院駐場影像設計藝術家,現為全職從事音樂創作、舞台表演、商業錄像製作和多媒體創作。他同時是ariff Production製作公司的創辦人兼製作總監。

  • 演出全長約50分鐘。
  • 建議您提前 15 分鐘抵達場地。遲到者將不得入場。
  • HKPAX 保留在事前無需通知的情況下對節目進行變更的權利。