Expo Programmes
Music
1014
HKPAX x China Performing Arts Agency
Venue
Studio Theatre, Hong Kong Cultural Centre
Google Map
Date and time (HKT)
14 Oct (Mon) - 15 Oct (Tue) 20:15
Pass holder
FULLDAYSTUDENT
Full pass holders are eligible to reserve a seat
Language
Performed in Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles
Co-created by the Hong Kong Performing Arts Expo and China Performing Arts Agency
 

Music Theatre: A Fusion of Nanyin and Jazz

Nanyin originated in the late Qing Dynasty and was a popular music and narrative singing art form in the Guangdong region, Hong Kong included. Jazz, on the other hand, also emerged at around the same time. However, despite their eastern and western origins, nanyin and jazz are authentic folk arts that express human emotions through music and singing.

In 1014, a couple implanted a chip sometime ago, erasing a shared unpleasant memory and replacing it with a fictional happy memory. Today, an unpleasant event is about to occur again. How will the couple face it? Technology is enticing, but can outward happiness suppress the deepest human emotions? Perhaps only time can tell!

In this production, we will witness how Hong Kong and mainland Chinese artists spanning multiple generations use these genres to express about humanity’s aspirations and doubts for the future.

The premiere of the production will take place on 14 October, hence the title 1014!

Tang Shu-wing

Artistic Director/ Director/ Dramaturg/ Co-producer

Theatre director and educator, Founder and Artistic Director of Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio and former Dean of the School of Drama of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA), Tang Shu-wing is regarded as one of the most influential theatre directors in Hong Kong. Graduated from the Université de la Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris with a Master Degree in Theatre Studies, he also received actor training at l‘Ecole de la Belle de Mai. He used to go to India to experience spiritual formation. His multi-cultural background very often blends both traditional and contemporary elements in his works, including drama, non-verbal theatre, dance and opera. His works are more than 60, and the more famous ones such as Titus Andronicus, Titus Andronicus 2.0, Macbeth, Detention and Thunderstorm and King Lear have been staged in many international arts festivals. “Minimalist aesthetics and the Body” that Tang advocated has become a brand of contemporary theatre in Hong Kong.

 

In 2014, he established “Physical Theatre Youth Training Programme”, which has become an important platform for nurturing the young. In 2019, the Studio is named an “Eminent Arts Group” by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. His major awards include the Medal of Honour by the HKSAR, the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, Honorary Doctorate by the HKAPA, Hong Kong Arts Centre’s Honorary Fellowship, Honorary Fellow of Lingnan University, Three times Best Director in the Hong Kong Drama Awards, the Director of the Year in IATC (HK) Critics Awards 2021, l’Officier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication, Excellence Award by the Undercloud Festival of Romania and “Arts & Culture” Award of the Grand Prix France Hong Kong 2022.


Yuen Siu-fai

Nanyin Music Director and Soloist

Veteran Cantonese opera performer and artist, Yuen Siu-fai began his artistic career at seven and studied under renowned Cantonese opera master Mak Bing-wing. He has also extensively studied nanyin of Cantonese opera singing, making him one of the few versatile artists who can perform across different genres of Chinese opera. Yuen has dedicated himself to Cantonese opera education and preservation. He frequently gives lectures, participates in academic conferences, and delivers talks at universities and secondary schools.

 

Yuen has received numerous awards and accolades for his outstanding achievements. He has been honoured with the Hong Kong Artist of the Year Award (1991), Artistic Achievement Award (2003) and Outstanding Artistic Contribution Award (2015) by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. He received the BH Honorary Medal from the Hong Kong Government in 1991. In 2012, he was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the Education University of Hong Kong. In 2014, he received the Bronze Bauhinia Star from the Hong Kong SAR Government.

 

Currently, Yuen serves as an adjunct associate professor in the Department of Music at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is also the Artistic Director of the One Table Two Chairs Charity Foundation, a member of Composers and Authors Society of Hong Kong Ltd., China Theatre Association and the Chinese Folk Literature and Art Association. He acts as a museum expert adviser on Cantonese Opera for the Leisure and Cultural Services Department, a consultant to Xiqu and Intangible Cultural Heritage Centre at the Education University of Hong Kong and the Chief Examiner for the Cantonese Opera Grading Examination, jointly organised by the Hong Kong Association of Cantonese Opera Scholars and London College of Music, University of West London.

 

Yuen has authored books such Yuen Siu-fai: Abandoning School to Learn Opera: Disciples Are Not Necessarily Sons, Endless Inheritance: Basic Knowledge of Cantonese Opera, No Regrets in This Life and No Regrets: Paying Homage to Qutou. 


Hui Chun-pong, Jim

Playwright

Graduated from the School of Drama of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts in 2013, he is now a playwright, professional actor and stand-up comedian.

 

His playwright works include: Vacant Possession, The Bucket and Twists and Turns by Hong Kong Repertory Theatre; Parting is Never Easy by Windmill Grass Theatre; Final Call: 929G by Boom Theatre x Rainy Apple Theatre; The Darkness Comes to Light, Lost in Austin and Tung Yau Café by Actors’ Family; Temporarily Unknown by Three As One Theatre; One Compensation for the Last: Hong Kong (Tentative) Inmate of the Death Penalty by Plum Theatre.

 

His stage performances include: The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui and The Garden Party by Theatre Horizon; Kassandra by On & On Theatre Workshop; The Scholar and the Executioner and The Black and the Blue of a Man by The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. He was awarded the “IATC (HK) Drama Critic’s Award 2018” for The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui, and nominated for the “9th Hong Kong Small Theatre Award for Outstanding Male Actor” for Kassandra.

 

He has also appeared in ViuTV’s Sparks, Into the Wild and King of Live, as well as a stand-up comedy show, STAND Up for LOVE by Deep Ploughing.


Daniel Chu

Music Director/ Composer

Daniel Chu is a Hong Kong-born pianist, composer, arranger, record producer, music director, and scholar. He graduated Summa Cum Laude from Berklee College of Music at the young age of 20, earning a Bachelor of Music degree. During his time in Boston, he studied under pianists such as George Russell Jr., Tim Ray, and Kenny Werner and songwriters such as Sarah Brindell, Jimmy Kachulis, and Pat Pattison. Daniel received prestigious accolades, including the Berklee Achievement Scholarship and Berklee Shining Star Award.

 

In 2024, Daniel completed his Master of Philosophy degree in Music, specialising in ethnomusicology at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Throughout his graduate studies, he had the opportunity to learn from ethnomusicologists such as Frederick Lau and Yu Siu Wah. Daniel’s thesis, titled Digging the Hong Kong Jazz Scene: Past, Present, and People, is a groundbreaking scholarly work that explores the history, contemporary development, and musical lives of the Hong Kong jazz scene. Professor Adam Kielman has praised the thesis as “a tremendous accomplishment, and an important contribution to jazz scholarship and to the Hong Kong jazz scene itself.”

 

A defining aspect of Daniel’s artistic identity lies in the synergy he creates. His music celebrates diverse world cultures, musical traditions, and playing techniques. His experience with free improvisation and the formal architecture of music gives him a unique outlook that encompasses classical, jazz, pop, soul, gospel, folk, and experimental.


Ashley Lin

Jazz Soloist

Ashley Lin is a rising actress and singer-songwriter based in Hong Kong. At 24 years old, Ashley has decided to pursue a full-time career in performing arts, after completing her undergraduate degree in architecture at the University of Hong Kong.

 

Young as she may be, Ashley is definitely not a stranger in front of the camera. Ashley has starred in movies and tv series alike since she was 16, including Septet produced by Johnnie To and Find Your Voice produced by Andy Lau. More recently, Ashley was cast as the female lead in two drama series Rope a Dope and Sparks produced by ViuTV.

 

Ashley has been active in the local music scene since 2018. Her music has appeared in commercials for brands such as Chanel, Fendi, Tods, and Ralph Lauren, as well as the Cannes festival feature film, Septet. In recent years, Ashley has taken a special interest in contemporary jazz. A multi-talented songwriter and lyricist, Ashley’s most recent lyrical works include Strangers and Dandelion, written in collaboration with local jazz musician Kurtis Li. Ashley has performed in live houses all over Hong Kong and has participated in the West Kowloon Freespace Jazz festival.

  • Approximately 90 minutes in duration.
  • Free seating.
  • You are recommended to arrive 15 minutes before the event starts. No admission for latecomers.
  • Programmes are subject to change without prior notice. HKPAX reserves the right to make the final decision regarding the arrangements.

演博节目
音乐
1014
香港演艺博览 x 中国对外演出有限公司
场地
香港文化中心剧场
地图
日期和时间 (香港时间)
10月14日 (星期一) - 10月15日 (星期二) 20:00
通行证持有人
标准一日学生
标准通行证持有人可预订
语言
以广东话演出,设有中英文字幕
由香港演艺博览及中国对外演出有限公司共同创作
 

音乐剧场:地水南音与爵士乐的越界交融

地水南音源于清末,曾是广东地区(包括香港)十分普及的音乐及说唱艺术;爵士乐起源的时间与地水南音相若。虽然一东一西,但两者都是透过音乐及歌声表达人性情怀的民间艺术。

一对夫妻不久前植入晶片,删除一段共同的不愉快记忆并以虚构的美满回忆替代。今天,不愉快的事情又即将出现,两人如何面对?科技令人趋之若骛,但表面的风光是否能掩盖人类最深层的情感?或许只有时间才能证明!

今天,让我们看看横跨几代的香港与内地创作人,如何以音乐及歌声道出人类对未来的渴望与质疑!

10月14日是作品的首演日期,故以《1014》命名之!

邓树荣

艺术总监/导演/戏剧构作/联合监制

剧场导演及戏剧教育家,「邓树荣戏剧工作室」创办人及艺术总监,香港演艺学院戏剧学院前院长,被誉为「香港最具影响力的剧场导演之一」。巴黎新索邦大学戏剧硕士,及在l’Ecole de la Belle de Mai接受演员训练,并往印度灵修。多元的文化背景使邓氏的作品拥有一种融汇传统与当代的独特性,游走于话剧、无言剧、舞剧及歌剧。作品超过六十部、较著名的如《泰特斯》、《泰特斯2.0》、《马克白》、《打转教室》、《舞‧雷雨》及《李尔王》,均于多个国际艺术节上演。其倡导的「从身体出发的简约美学」,是香港当代剧场的重要品牌。

 

2014年成立「专业形体戏剧青年训练课程」,至今已成为培育年青演艺工作者的重要平台。2019年,「工作室」获香港艺术发展局选为「优秀艺团」。邓氏曾获主要奖项包括香港特区政府荣誉勋章,香港艺术发展奖「杰出艺术贡献奖」,香港演艺学院颁授荣誉博士,香港艺术中心「艺术荣誉奖」,岭南大学荣誉院士,三届香港舞台剧奖最佳导演奖,IATC(HK)2021剧评人奖「年度导演奖」,法国文化部「艺术及文学军官勋章」,罗马尼亚Undercloud Festival卓越奖,Grand Prix France Hong Kong 2022「文化艺术奖」。


阮兆辉

南音音乐总监及演出

资深粤剧表演艺术家,七岁从艺,拜名伶麦炳荣为师,更精研广东说唱之南音,是少数可以跨行当演出的戏曲艺人。阮氏致力粤剧教育及承传,经常在各大学及中学演讲及参与学术研讨会及讲座。

 

阮氏历年获奖无数,成就斐然,荣获香港艺术发展局香港艺术家年奖(1991 年)、艺术成就奖(2003 年)及杰出艺术贡献奖(2015 年);1991 年获香港政府颁发 BH 荣誉奖章;2012 年获香港教育大学颁授荣誉院士;2014 年获香港特别行政区政府颁发铜紫荆星章。

 

阮氏现为香港中文大学音乐系客座副教授、一桌两椅慈善基金有限公司艺术总监、香港作曲家及作词家协会会员、中国戏剧家协会会员、中国民间文艺家协会理事、康乐及文化事务署博物馆专家顾问(粤剧)、香港教育大学戏曲与非遗传承中心顾问和粤曲考级试(香港粤剧学者协会与西伦敦大学伦敦音乐学院合办)首席考官。

 

著作方面,阮氏曾亲自撰写《阮兆辉弃学学戏︰弟子不为为子弟》、《生生不息薪火传─粤剧生行基础知识》、《此生无悔此生》及《此生无悔付氍毹》。


崔博思

灯光设计

就职于北京人民艺术剧院,一级舞台美术设计师(灯光),中国舞台美术学会灯光专业委员会秘书长、中国照明学会影视照明学会专家委员、北京戏剧家协会舞台美术专业委员会秘书长(北京舞美学会秘书长),天津传媒大学客座教授。

 

先后就读于中央戏剧学院舞台美术系,并取得学士、硕士学位。2013年,入选文化部「中国国家大剧院高级剧院管理人才培训奖学金计划」,赴英国皇家歌剧院学习。

 

代表作品有话剧《人世间》、话剧《喜相逢》、舞剧《百年正阳门》、音乐剧《忘川引》、曲艺音乐剧《成都家书》、话剧《密战赤水河》、话剧《模范监狱》、音乐剧《亚特之光》等。2015年,个人灯光设计作品入选第三届中国舞台美术展「十大中青年灯光设计师」邀请展,并获得荣誉奖。撰写《光的无限力量》、《幕后同样精彩》、《一场暴风雨后》等多篇文章刊发或出版。

 

2019年,参与中华人民共和国建国70周年庆典活动并荣获纪念嘉奖。近年来,先后策划组织了「2019世界灯光师大会」、第四届中国舞台美术展「『照建未来』灯光艺术展」和「北京百年舞台美术展」,以及「大戏回望——舞台美术精品邀请展」。


许晋邦

编剧

2013年于香港演艺学院戏剧学院表演系毕业,现为舞台编剧、职业演员、栋笃笑匠。

 

编剧作品包括:香港话剧团《凶的空间》、《半桶水》、《迂回曲》;风车草剧团《忙与盲的分离时代》;爆炸戏棚娱乐x下雨天不吃苹果《大象的告别式》;演戏家族《柳暗花明又一穿》、《当家猫遇上猫》、《桐油冰室》;三座一台创作社《暂时没有名字》;演员的自我搔痒《一赔一|香港(暂时)最后一名死囚》。

 

舞台演出包括:天边外剧场《教父阿涂》、《花园宴会》;前进进戏剧工作坊《卡桑德拉》;香港演艺学院《秀才与刽子手》、《李逵的蓝与黑》,并凭《教父阿涂》荣获「IATC(HK)剧评人奖2018年度演员奖」及凭《卡桑德拉》获提名「第9届香港小剧场奖优秀男演员」。

 

除此之外还偶有萤幕演出:ViuTV《冰上火花》、《野人老师》、《直播王》;以及栋笃笑演出:深耕制作《发LOVE疯》。


朱肇阶

音乐总监/作曲

朱肇阶是一位出生于香港的钢琴家、作曲家、编曲家、唱片监制、音乐总监及学者。朱氏在年仅20岁时以最高荣誉从伯克利音乐学院毕业,获得音乐学士学位。在美国波士顿求学期间,他受教于著名爵士钢琴家George Russell Jr.、Tim Ray、Kenny Werner以及资深词曲作家Sarah Brindell、Jimmy Kachulis和Pat Pattison的门下。在学期间屡获殊荣,包括伯克利成就奖学金及伯克利闪亮之星奖。

 

在2024年,朱氏在香港中文大学完成了音乐哲学硕士学位,专攻民族音乐学。研究期间,他曾向刘长江教授和余少华教授等民族音乐学家学习。他的论文题目为「挖掘香港爵士乐圈:历史、现况及人物。」这份论文具开创性,主要探讨香港爵士乐圈的重要历史、当代发展及人物关联。Adam Kielman教授称赞该论文是「一项巨大的成就,对爵士乐研究和香港爵士乐圈本身有重要贡献。」

 

朱氏的音乐艺术特点在于协同,包涵多元的世界文化、音乐传统和演奏技巧。他有丰富的自由即兴经验,并受正统的音乐训练,作品横跨古典、爵士、流行、骚灵、福音、民谣和实验等不同音乐流派。


林恺铃

爵士歌手

香港新世代女演员及唱作歌手林恺铃,现年24岁的她毕业于香港大学建筑系,毕业后锐意全面投身演艺事业。

 

早于16岁还在中学时期便兼任模特儿及开始参演电影,而年纪轻轻的她已经参与多部影视作品,当中包括由杜琪峰监制的电影《七人乐队》、由刘德华监制的电影《热血合唱团》,以及近年担任女主角的电视剧《绳角》及《冰上火花》。

 

自2018年开始Ashley已一直活跃于音乐圈,她的音乐亦受各大品牌赏识,曾经为Chanel, Tod’s创作网上短片主题曲,亦曾在Fendi, Ralph Lauren, Alexander McQueen活动中作现场音乐表演,更为康城影展参展作品《七人乐队》献唱主题曲。Ashley 近年更醉心于爵士音乐,亦尝试为爵士歌曲作曲及填词,当中包括与爵士音乐人Kurtis Li联合制作的《Strangers 》及《Dandelion》。她亦经常在香港各大Live House作爵士音乐表演,更有份参与西九《自由爵士音乐节》。

  • 演出全长约90分钟。
  • 不设划位。
  • 建议您提前 15 分钟抵达场地。迟到者将不得入场。
  • HKPAX 保留在事前无需通知的情况下对节目进行变更的权利。